Donate to Esther Rockett’s Legal Defence

New horizons, new frontiers

I’ve put together a DIY notifications post on the Accountability blog to assist those of you who wish to continue the work of exposing the Universal Medicine cult and bringing it to account. Having worked hard at this since September 2012, I’ve seen a series of complaints, notifications and submissions through to conclusion, and garnered some significant support and media coverage. However, it’s time I devoted my energy to other projects.

The road from here in bringing Benhayon to account

I encourage all of you affected by UniMed to make your voices heard and do your bit to keep them from harming more people. The group’s increasingly aggressive behaviour is cause for concern for all of us, however I have reached the limit of what I’m able to expose. If you would like to see more media coverage and more regulatory scrutiny, it’s now up to you to do your bit. I would like to share that a number of journalists from top news organizations have asked me to contact them if anyone with further inside knowledge of the group, or anyone who has been harmed by UniMed comes forward. We are guaranteed media coverage if this occurs, or any further regulatory action is taken. Media coverage is one of the most powerful ways to expose cults.

I would also like to share that NSW police are interested in speaking with anyone who has been harmed by any of the Benhayons or their associates. In 2005 I had a nasty experience of Serge Benhayon’s ovarian reading. Because grooming is not a criminal offence, and I put a stop to Serge’s sleazy advance before it became anything worse, I knew that it was very unlikely I could get him prosecuted. In 2012 a lawyer I consulted disagreed and urged me to press charges of indecent assault. I made a short statement at that point to NSW police. Late last year, NSW police called and asked me to provide a more detailed statement on the ovarian reading. I provided the statement in person and had a long talk with police. An officer told me he would like to speak with anyone who has been harmed by Benhayon, or who has had a loved one harmed – even if they are not prepared to press charges. My statement was put to prosecutors and they have decided they are not confident of getting a prosecution. However, NSW police have told me several times since they would like to speak to anyone harmed.

In other words, NSW police has similar concerns to me, Lance, Jane, Ira and others – the same concerns that have kept me at this since 2012. But we cannot stop this harm if you don’t come forward, and I can’t do more. I would encourage anyone harmed to call me on o4o3 358 o92 and I will refer you to very professional senior officers who are familiar with the situation. If you would prefer to remain anonymous to me, I don’t mind if you call me on a blocked number.

I won’t disappear entirely. Expect occasional blogging and me taking public pops at their predatory nonsense – just not so frequently. I will still be on Twitter. If you’d like to receive an email when there are new posts, sign up to the automated service on the right hand side of my sites.

Empowerment and the long game – taking a personal stand

UniMed is a multi-million dollar business selling ‘love’ and ‘integrity’ with an army of professional promoters and apologists and a dedicated legal team. That a nobody like me could have them scrambling to harass me and pull down the material I’ve exposed and questions I’ve raised shows how feeble the whole edifice is. Currently they have a full time staff pumping out a barrage of defamatory propaganda on 30 websites and countless Facebook pages and Twitter accounts to counteract one person’s social media campaign. In spite of their legal team publicly labelling us liars, they have never served us with a legal notice. UniMed is pathetic.

Serge’s followers, who’ve paid a premium to behave like sheep for their ‘healthy self-loving choices’, like to think he has supernatural powers. He doesn’t. It’s not occurred to any of them how powerful it is for one ordinary person to stand up to a wealthy organization and hundreds of investors, on zero resources, with very little support, and a few detractors of my own, and to do it with wit, original thoughts, rock and roll and panache. I didn’t take directions from anyone, I did it for no pay, without selling anything, and without making a single claim to benefit myself, and I kept my sites open to all comments. I’m still here. No one’s put a hex on me that I couldn’t hex back, the sites are still up, getting more pageviews than ever and I answered anyone who had a go at me with facts. Not one of the Esoteric Sons of God would have the wherewithal to do that, least of all puny Serge.

But it’s time for me to move on and put my energy and skills into new projects. I took some responsibility for getting something done about UM because of my first hand experience of Benhayon’s predatory behaviour and out of very strong concerns for vulnerable people targeted by this group, including children. I have done everything I can.

Many of you reading have children in the group. In the last while I’ve had contact with adult survivors of child abuse from another cult. Many of them will never forgive their parents and the other adults in the group for exposing them to that abuse and failing to question or act on suspicious or grooming behaviour. Some have told me they wished an outspoken person like myself had been there pushing, questioning, advocating for them, but it was a similar situation to UniMed – the adults were all brainless sycophants. No one protected those kids. Sadly, some have told me that the small amount I’ve done in my contact with them has provided more support than they’ve received from their families. A lot of you reading need to ask yourselves why is a complete stranger putting her public reputation on the line and sacrificing her precious time with her own dear ones for your kids? You might ask yourselves how you want to be thought of and remembered – whether you will regret not having done more to speak up for and protect your own.

Some of you have shown concern about the harm done to Lance, Ira and me by UM’s bullying and defamation. I appreciate that, but I have no such fear for myself. No one will ever tell me that I did the wrong thing in standing up for the vulnerable. No one will ever shame any of you for standing up for your families – your kids.

The most courageous person I’ve encountered in all of this has been Ira McClure – whose health was catastrophically assaulted by a negligent, cult struck buffoon of a doctor. In spite of ongoing health problems she has persisted with the incompetent and spineless HCCC and endured vicious online mobbing from Serge’s army of Brides. Ira McClure came forward at a risk to her health and wellbeing, but she has nothing to regret, and we should all thank her for coming forward.

Speaking for myself, any personal cost to me is nothing that can’t be overcome. Morally and personally I couldn’t afford not to do this. However, I’ve achieved what I set out to and anything more would be repeating myself and doing myself a disservice. Long after Serge has shuttled himself back to Sirius, with a bunch of his nasty, withered Brides, and the true devastation comes to light, I won’t be left wishing I’d done more.

Now it’s up to you.

DIY Notifications

Prohibiting Serge Benhayon – how you can help

12 Comments on “New horizons, new frontiers”

  1. anon says:

    “It’s not occurred to any of them how powerful it is for one ordinary person to stand up to a wealthy organization and hundreds of investors, on zero resources, with very little support, and a few detractors of my own, and to do it with wit, original thoughts, rock and roll and panache. I didn’t take directions from anyone, I did it for no pay, without selling anything, and without making a single claim to benefit myself, and I kept my sites open to all comments. I’m still here. No one’s put a hex on me that I couldn’t hex back, the sites are still up, getting more pageviews than ever and I answered anyone who had a go at me with facts. Not one of the Esoteric Sons of God would have the wherewithal to do that, least of all puny Serge.”

    Esther, Thank you for writing this piece. What a CV.

    Well done Esther, with heartfelt thanks for all of your hard work, in the face the morons numerous attacks. Your tenacity is inspiring.

    Your expressed motivation for doing what you have done is really thought provoking it should be what motivates everyone to speak up and out.

    “Morally and personally I couldn’t afford not to do this. However, I’ve achieved what I set out to and anything more would be repeating myself and doing myself a disservice. Long after Serge has shuttled himself back to Sirius, with a bunch of his nasty, withered Brides, and the true devastation comes to light, I won’t be left wishing I’d done more.”

    I am aware of a few others in the community who are not known publicly but have worked
    well at doing what they can and using their contacts to expose this Universal Medicine for what it really is.

    May we all here be in the position that when the full devastation is revealed that WE personally
    won’t be saying I wished I’d done more.

    I will be looking out for the email with your periodic posts.

    Good luck with your new frontiers, you WILL go well.

  2. Just saying ... says:

    Esther I’ve admired your pro-active, incisive, intelligent tenacity & strategies to expose real (evidence based) truth. With a very amusing sense of humour & wit.

    Glad you plan to remain loosely involved.

    Your informative sites will continue to provide thought provoking insights to help evaluate UM.

    To forewarn re UM’s compassion – less “love” & self care / mindfulness principles which lure the trusting in. The manipulative slippery slope into a controlling, family splitting, fear based delusional hoax.

    UM has only itself to blame:

    Exorbitant costs & obscene wealth (multiple properties, is it 14?).

    Scaring & exploiting the vulnerable, sick & dying.

    False promises of eternal / spiritual rewards.

    Proclamations of “humble integrity”, whilst denying a shady past & claiming to be enlightened masters / geniuses reincarnated.

    Blaming the victim & providing a “spiritual” excuse for sexual assault / sexual predators.

    Attempting to white wash its public image, by concealing bizarre, occult based teachings.

    Silencing those who politely question or strongly criticise. (Blocking responses to address distortions / lies. Very un-loving, discrediting character assassinations. Revenge – full attempts at career decimations).

    Unintentionally propped up by an apathetic, ineffectual government / accountability system.

    However with perseverance, TRUTH eventually PREVAILS …

    Esther you’ve facilitated way more than your fair share of fact finding / exposing, etc. All the best for your future (can we read about your other projects?).

    Hope all concerned / involved courageously continue to pursue & constructively communicate true truth …

  3. non cult members of the North Coast says:

    Ok
    I’m just going to out myself here and say……
    Esther
    We really, really really,really, really, really like you
    We thank you, for your hard work, and good luck to you
    You have done your best
    The UM followers continue to head off to church to worship like dogs at the shrine of Serges life
    Laughably tragic and dangerous all at once
    We all know the truth about Serge
    And somewhere in the back of his sick mind, he does too.
    It will self destruct
    And hopefully some legal justice will be served in the future
    Enjoy life without the stench of the sewer that is Um

  4. Big Ears says:

    My dear old Gran used to say “Give him enough rope and he’ll hang himself!”
    He will they all do, especially when they think they have got away with it.
    Good luck and have some fun!

  5. Esther says:

    Thank you for your kind comments, and thanks for reading.

    The one thing I’d like to reiterate, because this is very vital to Serge’s hold on the students, is that he has zero special powers. The only thing special about him is his capacity for unconscionable, utterly unscrupulous lying and abuse – and his ability to attract foot soldiers willing to uphold it.

    And another point I’d like to make is that I’d initially hoped it would take less than a year to stop this vile business, and that the regulators only needed to be supplied with the right information. The blogs were a kind of stop gap measure to try and reduce the harm and deter new prey until the regulators brought that lot to account. I also thought we had enough to have Serge prosecuted, and believe me, Lance and I threw everything at it. Thank you Lance.

    We didn’t account for the level of regulatory dysfunction we encountered and I haven’t stopped writing letters asking how these dangerous scam artists are getting a free run with consumer law, charity law, commercial law, health service regulation etc. in spite of us providing evidence of clear breaches.

    I hoped we would get Serge prosecuted to save victims the indignity of having to come forward to this onslaught of bullying I fully anticipated – having studied the workings of Scientology. I’m quite sure one prosecution will make it easier for victims and litigants to come forward, but I’m no longer confident this will happen soon. Unfortunately it will take another courageous person like Ira McClure.

    [An aside, a child abuse victim I met through my Royal Commission contacts was the instigator of an investigation into his experience of abuse at a private school in the early 1960s. He thought there might be one or two more victims. By the time the Royal Commission hearing had ended more than a dozen had come forward and the inquiry uncovered an extensive paedophile ring – similar to this horror currently being revealed in Ballarat. He initially blew the whistle 20 years ago – alone. In each Royal Commission case I’m aware of, the big picture has sadly and tragically turned out to be far bigger than any of the victims imagined, and I have a real fear this could be the case with UM too. I know if Serge tried to sleaze onto me, he would try it on anyone, and nothing I’ve seen or heard in the last couple of years has persuaded me otherwise.]

    I would still like to encourage those of you adversely affected to talk to each other, pool resources and mount a class action. Go after every cent you can from every one of them that’s done you harm – every bullying one of them, and go after the health professionals for undue influence.

    I’ll still be around. There will be a bit of gossip and some takedowns of nasty things like their predatory support groups. I will blog on my estherrockett.com site from time to time about matters that interest me – cults, spiritual abuse, quackery etc. – that will usually feature UM as case study.

    The sites will not come down. Please use the space to continue communicating about UM and with each other because many still suffer in silence, and they certainly get support from reading what all of you have to say. I often have people contacting me questioning their own sanity – whether it’s just them that feels disturbed by this lot. It reassures them to know they’re not alone.

    Take care everyone. Thanks especially to all who supplied info and gave encouragement. Stick together and stay well.

  6. Lance says:

    Yes, we were certainly naive when it came to regulators. We’ve fought two battles, and been beaten back by the regulators unique mix of ineptitude and contradictory statutes that often guarantee they can’t and won’t do a thing.

    My favorite have been the working with children check squad who admitted to me that they don’t actually check complaints – like the child welfare line, or even police charges- only if someone has actually been convicted. Classic closing the door after the horse has bolted. The head of that department even conceded that it’d be those wanting to be close to kids most likely to seek a certificate… doh. So basically, those checks mean absolutely nothing.

    Next on the list has been the HCCC who have two excuses. First, they don’t regulate unregistered practitioners, who by definition can do what they want- especially if they change the name of what they are doing. Say from “abortionist” to “child-removalist”; and secondly, won’t investigate until they ‘consider’ if an investigation will reveal enough information to investigate. Their only ‘action’ has been to ask the person in question if “they did it”, who of course promptly denies it; which is good enough for them. Even if a picture tells you otherwise…Monty Pythonesque.

    And the list goes on. One after another. Emboldening and encouraging Serge and his merry band of denialists.

    However, it doesn’t negate the fact that I have spoken to a bunch of people who have had made serious allegations about our pint sized enlightened master. There’s no doubt what the group have done to us has scared those people into silence for now, but I am confident a day will come when someone will put their hand up and the fantasy world that Serge has ensnared his followers in will start to unravel- just like it does with all cults. My guess if I have spoken to one, there will be ten. Whether it’s a financial shenanigan, or something far more sinister.

    I have to admit though, I remain impressed and astounded at the power of his make believe world and the group dynamics that give it momentum. To have someone I knew, trusted and loved for a third of my life willfully ignore information in favour of trusting in someone more or less unknown to them is quite impressive. Ouch.

    The fantastic really does trump facts.

    The group have told the world who they are though. I can’t say I am too impressed with their trashing of me and my livelihood (and I will be acting in due course) but generally people that have seen those blogs don’t take long to see it exactly for what it is. They get it’s a cult attacking perceived critics and that the commentary is hateful, one-sided, invented and worst of all, very revealing about those who have authored the commentary.

    I’d say the last three years have been stage one of a long game. I live a stones throw from cult central. I’m inexorably tied to the situation whether I like it or not. I’m not leaving the area, and I am not giving up on what I know is true.

    Serge can rest assured- or not- that I will keep working towards arresting the growth of the cult and to bringing him to account, for the things I know he has done, and for the things I don’t know. It may not be front of my mind, but it will always be on my radar.

    I just hope one day a few members can wake up to the fact they have been fooled, used and abused and realise we were never the enemies- for there has been nothing to gain in my and Esther’s efforts, only cost and pain- but instead trying our utmost to help them avoid a mortal error and see what is right before them.

    How could it be anything else?

    • Ira McClure says:

      Dear Readers

      I like you all want to take this opportunity to really thank Esther and Lance for their tenacity and courage. Wow what a job they have done.

      Esther, although there are many who UM have dreadfully hurt and frightened your tireless courageous example, will when the time is right embolden them all to speak up.

      Lance, we all know that you are not the tyrant that UM has tried to label you as.
      Funny, UM have helped proved this, no matter how much provocation they have hurled at you, you have kept your dignity.
      Any man/woman who has been through what you have – loss of your mate under horrid circumstances, and the disgusting, shameful, lying, public humiliation that your ex mate has sanctioned UM in doing to you, so easily you could have taken the law into your own hands.
      But you didn’t and won’t and we all really commend you for that. UM’s actions have shown the world without a doubt how nasty and controlled and cultish they really are.

      Yes, UM have taken to attempting to bully anyone who speaks out. All the more reason to speak out.

      As Esther said above:”The one thing I’d like to reiterate, because this is very vital to Serge’s hold on the students, is that he has zero special powers. The only thing special about him is his capacity for unconscionable, utterly unscrupulous lying and abuse – and his ability to attract foot soldiers willing to uphold it.”

      No truer statement, UM have proved this time and time again.

      Some of you have no doubt read Serge Benhayon’s and Alison Grieg’s comments that I am a liar.

      Would I, Ira McClure be as stupid to go public if I didn’t have the proof?
      Would Jane Hansen and the Sunday Telegraph be as silly as to not ask to see this?

      Alison Grieg’s blurb about Jane and I is very poorly written to say the least it is not what you would expect of someone who says that she got her degree in Cambridge.

      I am guessing Alison wasn’t taught to read correctly and certainly not taught comprehension skills as she did not read THE newspaper article correctly at all. Her blurb is nothing like the newspaper article. Interesting to note that Alison did not put the newspaper article up on the site for all to read for themselves.

      Sorry but at this time I am not at liberty to discuss much more with you all because of the legal matters that are in process.

      This matter is still ongoing with the HCCC Investigators.

      Please do not be afraid to speak out.
      We know you will when the time is right for you.

      We just hope that it is soon.

      Many in our community from all professions have expressed deep concern about this mob. As Lance expressed it is work in progress.

      As the ground swell increases, results will come.

      I echo Esther’s heartfelt sentiments:
      Speaking for myself, any personal cost to me is nothing that can’t be overcome. Morally and personally I couldn’t afford not to do this………………….. Long after Serge has shuttled himself back to Sirius, with a bunch of his nasty, withered Brides, and the true devastation comes to light, I won’t be left wishing I’d done more.

      Good luck

      • Esther Rockett says:

        Bravo Ira, and thank you. Best wishes for your continued recovery.

        • Get Sirius ... says:

          Respect, appreciation and honour for the above brave souls, massively maligned for speaking out. (UM denigrates other groups & individuals, but UM members are hypocritically outraged when the spotlight’s on them). Despite the frustratingly inert, inept and inadequate regulatory bodies, you have achieved heaps to warn others to be aware.

  7. WARNING says:

    Warning Single UM women on the prowl. OMG!

    Lookout men if you are into online dating.

    UM – Karin Becker is a self appointed expert oh sorry EPA accredited or another name pimp for Serge. She’s giving all the encouragement and advice for women to engage in online dating.

    I seem to remember what’s his name? Neil Gamble has a dating site, maybe I’m wrong.

    Another way to get in $ucker$ for $erge.

  8. murphy says:

    Well done Ira McClure, you are a living legend.
    You, were willing to come out open against Universal Medicine and Serge Benhayon and have your face on a national well known newspaper the ” Sunday Telegraph” on a day that most people read the newspaper.
    I remember reading your article that Jane Hanson wrote on the 31 August 2014..
    It would not have been easy for you, living in Ballina quite near Goonellabah, being under the watchful eyes of the people who reside in that area and belong to the UM Cult.

    I would love for others placed in your situation to come forward with their stories, as you have as there is power in numbers. However not everyone has the strength, courage or tenacity that you have Ira.

    Hopefully, by your actions, you have made people and organizations aware of your plight and what you have had to endure, especially with the UM bloggers? on their site.

    It proves to me that you are a “never give in,” type of person.
    One day for sure you will have your special day.
    Thank you Ira, for the bravery of telling your story.